Euro Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.2
 Rooms  4.0
 Cleanliness  3.8
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  3.8
 Service & Staff  4.2
 Food / Dining  3.5
 Total  4.0

".Fantastic support from Steve Parisi"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Douglas B. of Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed:   September 2, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We got in later than expected by train from Naples. It was after 11pm when we got settled into the Delfina B & B and all the nearby restaurants were closed. We'd been living on station sandwiches all the way down from Cinque Terre and were famished. Steve jumped in and scoured his fridge and larder and presented us with a simple but very necessary and hugely satisfying snack of olives, cheeses, ham, bread and wine, all with a smile. Bravo!

Steve was very generous with his time in advising us on sights and where to eat, much better than the guidebooks.

He apologised for the dust caused by adding bathrooms to some of the rooms but all this will be finished by now.

"Dueño encantador y servicial, sitio con gran terraza, muy bien situado"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Caro M. of vigo/pontevedra, Spain
Reviewed:   August 26, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
El B&B está muy bien situado, tiene grandes habitaciones, buen desayuno, es limpio y tiene una gran terraza con vistas al Etna y Sicilia...lo mejor. El dueño habla varios idiomas, es muy servicial y te ayuda siempre que lo necesites o si tienes alguna duda sobre dónde ir o cómo llegar, horarios, etc. Él junto con 3 chicos más organizan excursiones muy interesantes a buen precio...ver en la web: girocalabria
MUY RECOMENDABLE

Caro-Vigo

"Delfina Bed and Breakfast"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Alex H. of Philadelphia, United States
Reviewed:   October 25, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Europeinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The center of Reggio di Calabria is relatively compact, which makes Defina Bed and Breakfast fairly easy to walk to from the city's main train station, Reggio di Calabria Centrale (about a 15-minute walk). Neither English nor Spanish is widely spoken in Reggio; so I was definitely using my Italian when I asked for directions from Reggio di Calabria Centrale to Via Crocisisso, where Delfina Bed and Breakfast is located. Upon arriving, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the host/manager (who was very nice and very helpful) spoke excellent English (he had spent time in London). Because Delfina was full, I ended up staying at a B&B only a few blocks away: B&B Oikia (Via Spagnolo 15), which was owned by the same person/company. The host/manager walked with me to B&B Oikia, a clean and very pleasant B&B--nothing extravagant, but clean, comfortable and well-maintained.

I definitely recommend staying at Delfina Bed & Breakfast/Oikia Bed & Breakfast if you are looking for affordable but comfortable and friendly budget accomodations in Reggio di Calabria.

El centro de Reggio di Calabria no es muy grande; por eso, no fue dificil caminar de Reggio di Calabria Centrale (la estación de tren) a Delfina Bed and Breakfast. La mayoría de la gente de Reggio di Calabria no habla mucho inglés o mucho español—y yo tuve que pedir direcciones al hotel en italiano. Pero al llegar al hotel, descubrí que el gerente del hotel habla muchisimo inglés (aunque el gerente es italiano, habia vivido en Londres hace muchos años). Delfina era lleno, pero el gerente caminaba conmigo al otro B&B que ese negocio tenía en el mismo barrio: B&B Oikia (Via Spagnolo 15). El dueño de Delfina Bed and Breakfast es el dueño de B&B Oikia también, y yo pasaba dos noches en B&B Oikia para el mismo precio. Ese gerente era muy simpatico.

Si alguien está buscando una pension en Reggio di Calabria que está barato pero limpio, recommiendo quedarse en Delfina Bed and Breakfast/B&B Oikia.

"Avoid this B&B"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Natalie S. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 10, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I would not recommend that people stay at the Delfina. No-one was there when we arrived and we had to sit outside for an hour before being let in by a man who lives in the same building. We then waited another hour before contacting the owner on his mobile. He told us what room we were in and that he would be back later. However, we did not see him until the following morning after he left a note saying he may not be around when we left.
The bathroom was shared, not private, as stated on my booking and the sheets we stained. The only consolation was that the owner deducted some money from the bill.

Reggio itself is also somewhere I would avoid if travelling to Italy. It is still recovering from an earthquake and alot of the buildings are scruffy. the only highlight is the museum with recovered bronze statues and ancient artefacts.

"Overnight stop"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Brad T. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   May 25, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Pre-booked a night at Delfina as we were arriving late from sicily and travelling early on the train to Naples so really just wanted a bed for the night, no frills.

Delfina was better than expected, clean rooms and a frriendly english speaking host made this rather more enjoyable than anticipated.

Would recommend if travelling through Reggio as a good place to put your head down without the added premium cost of a hotel.

"Delfina... fine place !"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Marie-catherine B. of Quebec, Canada
Reviewed:   May 16, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The room in which my friend and I stayed in was very clean, spacy, in the center of Reggio and easy to find. We had a room with 2 beds, a lot of space for putting your cloathes,etc. The bathroom was very clean and nice and the kitchen too. The breakfast was very good also!!!

A very nice place to stay in Reggio, and the price was very reasonnable !


1 - 6 of 6 reviews




EuroHostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us